I want less…

“Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler.” – Albert Einstein

I gave my microwave to a close friend who was moving into her first apartment a few months ago. Instead of replacing it, I got a toaster oven instead. What would have taken 2 minutes in the microwave now takes 15 minutes…and I couldn’t be happier. We live in an instant gratification” age and the fact that I have to spend a little time waiting for something to toast or warm up is teaching me patience. In 2014 I want less haste.

My apartment is just the right size for me. I have just enough space to teach me the difference between wants and needs. I am learning to only buy/keep only the things that bring me pleasure and to say no to the non-essentials. In 2014 I want less of the unnecessary.

On vacation in October, I had chocolate cake and it made me sick. I threw up every last bite. It definitely didn’t taste as good the second time around. I had no choice but to finally admit it to myself…chocolate makes me sick. Yes…sometimes all the world’s problems can be solved with a piece of dark chocolate…but it’s not worth the migraines and nausea anymore. I need to find a less painful way to solve the world’s problems. In 2014 I want less chocolate and sugar.

I was at a wedding on Saturday. It was the union of two young people I grew up with. The ceremony was held in the church we all grew up in. The church I stopped going to after mummy died…because it held too many memories. Since her funeral, my sister and brother got married there, we also had Luke’s farewell Mass there as well. It’s a mixture of happy and sad. But something happened to me during the wedding ceremony of my friends. The church felt like home. And I missed the community. I want a church community where everybody knows my name… In 2014 I want less just-a-face-in-the-crowd kinda worship.

“The secret of happiness, you see, is not found in seeking more, but in developing the capacity to enjoy less.” – Socrates

As 2013 is slips away, what would you like less of in 2014?

_________________________________________________________

I’m participating in BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo Challenge for the month of December:

NaBloPoMo_MoreLess

You can read some awesome entries here: NaBloPoMo December

7 Comments

  1. December 30, 2013 / 8:30 pm

    So, I came here, thinking you might have posted about your word, but NO! Ha!

    I’m guessing it will be tomorrow? Or are you going to wait for the new year?

    • vernette
      Author
      December 30, 2013 / 8:34 pm

      Oh I’m sorry I lead you wrong…I will post it on January 01st. I’m finishing up Blogher’s December NaBloPoMo. But thank you for stopping by.

      • December 30, 2013 / 8:35 pm

        That’s great. I’ve done those before, but I could never do one in December. Too much going on.

        I’ll be watching!

        • vernette
          Author
          December 30, 2013 / 8:37 pm

          It’s been rough completing this in December but I’m very proud of myself for having stuck with it.

  2. December 31, 2013 / 1:21 am

    Nice, Vernette. A soft yet clear close to a calendar year. You sound open and seemingly contented going forward. May abundant joy and good health be yours!

    • vernette
      Author
      December 31, 2013 / 6:40 pm

      Thank you so much. And all the best to you and yours for 2014!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.