Ganglion Style

About a month ago I noticed a small, hard lump on the back of my left wrist.

It was painful.

The first thing I thought was, “oh God, please let this not be what I think it is.”

Even though I know better, I’ve been trying to pretend it wasn’t there for a whole month…and after I busted up my thumb, my wrist was pushed far down on my list of things to worry about.

That was…until yesterday.

Over the weekend, the lump appeared to have grown bigger and it was more painful than ever.

“Water more than flour” as we say in Trinidad!

I told my sister about it and she insisted that I get it checked out…no matter what it turned out to be, we would deal with it.

I wasn’t so sure.

I had a lump removed from my left breast three years ago, it was a precaution because of my family history and we knew that it was more than likely benign. So no worries there.

But this hard, little lump…this now really painful lump striped all bravado away. I was scared.

I needed to prepare myself, so what did I do…

I Googled it.

Turned out this hard, little bump is kinda common.

It’s a Ganglion Cyst. My doctor confirmed it today.

That's not normal!

That’s not normal!

You live and you learn; before my wrist tried to grow a horn, I had no idea that these things existed. These lil bad boys are also called “Bible Bumps” because in the past the standard treatment for this bump was smashing it with a heavy book, which was…you guessed it, usually a Bible.

They commonly occur at the back of the hand at the wrist joint and what causes them is unknown. Some say trauma, some say a flaw in the joint capsule or tendon covering but whatever the cause, there is a little hard-on bulging out of my left hand I needed to get rid of it.

So after seeing my doctor, who said he removed one for a friend by smashing it…I did the thing the internet warned against. I smashed it with a bible….ganglion style! HA!

Hurt like a b****!

You can read more about Ganglion cysts here.

9 Comments

  1. January 31, 2013 / 1:15 am

    “I believe that love is the only currency we have and that it should be our sole motivation for the exchange of our time.”

    This is Good!

    and here is a whole BASKETFUL of Love!
    tomas

    • vernette
      Author
      January 31, 2013 / 6:07 am

      Thank you for the whole Basket Tomas! 🙂

  2. January 31, 2013 / 9:45 am

    My friend had one of those bad boys and she was in so much pain! I’m glad it was an “easy” fix and that you’re feeling better!!!!

    • vernette
      Author
      January 31, 2013 / 8:20 pm

      Thanks I’m much better albeit a little sore 😀

  3. February 2, 2013 / 6:16 pm

    Glad your ok. Also think of it this way, the ouch is shorter term than the pain of worrrying about it.

  4. February 3, 2013 / 3:01 am

    My mom had one of those years ago — so I had heard of it. I’m glad you’re much better!

  5. February 11, 2013 / 3:27 am

    Found you through the “Community Pool” and it turns out I’m Trini too! I actually could tell through your writing voice. Just lovely! I enjoy your writing!

    • vernette
      Author
      February 15, 2013 / 7:17 pm

      WELCOME!!! So happy to connect with a fellow sister of the soil. I stopped over at your blog and I like what I saw very much! Looking forward to reading more from you!

  6. vernette
    Author
    February 15, 2013 / 7:19 pm

    Thank you for reading. Ganglion cysts occur around your joints and tendons. I don’t think those on the forehead and nape are Ganglions. I quite enjoyed your blog!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.